Whatsapp has recently announced that it will share you contact number with parent company, Facebook. This will allow Facebook to significantly enhance its intelligence gathering initiatives and to send you targeted adverts, friend requests and more.
What is all the fuss about? Many of today’s applications update silently in the background and as a result we often ignore changes to the terms and conditions of frequently used apps. Whatsapp’s latest update to its terms and conditions means it will change the way content is discovered and delivered to its users, for this reason Whatsapp has given users 30 days from the date the application is updated, to either accept or opt-out.
How Do You Opt-Out?
Opt-Out Option 1: Read the Terms and Conditions
When you update to the latest version of WhatsApp, you’ll notice an updated set of terms and conditions. After the app updates, the first screen in the process will pop-up.
Don’t tap “Agree” before reading! Scroll all the way down and uncheck the box that will share your WhatsApp info with Facebook.
Opt-Out Option 2: In Account Settings
If you’ve already updated to the latest version and just breezed through the setup, follow these instructions to opt-out.
Go into your WhatsApp settings > Tap “Account”. Here, you’ll find a new option for “Share my account info” and a brief description of what checking the box means. Just uncheck that box and you are done. The option will ‘disappear’ from the account options menu.